Public chat rooms

- Reading time: 10 minutes -

Contents


Foreword

What does public mean?

Public are chat rooms that anyone can join without invitation, which is defined by changing the corresponding option from “members only” to “public”.

Figuratively, a public chat can be thought of as a public place to which everyone has access. Everything that is said is heard by everyone in this place and anyone who is there can reply (provided they have write permission).

Chat addresses that are used to post garbage messages or that are used to text in disregard of basic rules of politeness (misbehaving) can be kicked out of a chat or even permanently “banned”.

Functionality

Anyone can create closed and open chat groups with “their” server operator. The settings are usually selected so that only the administrators/moderators can see the actual name of the chat accounts. As a rule, all normal participants only see the alias name (nickname) chosen when joining and the profile picture that may be stored. You can enter and leave such a public chat room at any time or rejoin with a different alias if the desired one is currently occupied by someone else.

In addition, everyone present in the chat has a role with which various “rights” are associated: “visitor”, “participant”, “moderator/administrator” or “owner/owner”. A good description of the details can be found here: https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Multi-User_Chat#Die_Rolle_und_Rechte_eines_Anwesenden (external)

In addition, further settings can be made (for each public chat) such as:

  • Should the chat be created permanently or be deleted when the last person leaves?
  • Should the room be visible and displayed in search queries to the server?
  • Are visitors only allowed to read along or write messages themselves? (Should the chat room be “moderated”?)
  • Should the chat addresses of the visitors/participants be (publicly) visible or not?

Manners

The apparent anonymity (better: pseudonymity) of a chat room repeatedly tempts participants to make inappropriate contributions. However, just as “netiquette” applies to the worldwide web, appropriate forms of etiquette and politeness also apply to public chat rooms. For newcomers, it is therefore advisable to follow the posts passively for a while after entering a public chat room. This will give you a good impression of the tone of voice and the current mood, which - as in real life - fluctuates and should not be underestimated. Even in public chat rooms, (personal) data protection must be observed.

In a nutshell:
Always remain objective, respectful and cautious. In German it is normal to address participants as “Du” in public chat rooms - but this should not be transferred to real life.

More info:
https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Netiquette (external)
https://www.netplanet.org/netiquette/chat.shtml (external)

Benefits

People come together who don’t need to have any connection to each other in their other lives. However, problems, questions and opinions on a topic can be exchanged at this central location. The group size is not limited. For example, there are public chat rooms with several hundred participants. This means that the wealth of experience is correspondingly large and there is almost always someone who can provide an answer and help.

Examples

There are countless public chat rooms. Here is a small selection of active groups:

Of course to the initiative “Free Messenger
xmpp:freie-messenger@conference.jabber.de
Everything about “Jabber(XMPP) / Conversations & Co. / Gajim, Yaxim, Dino, Monal, Siskin, … / ‘secure’ messengers”
xmpp:chatstandard@chat.openim.de
Everything about “IT security, data protection and privacy
xmpp:it@chat.disroot.org

English-language groups in which the developers of the programs are also involved:

  • Information from and about the messenger “Conversations”
    xmpp:conversations@conference.siacs.eu

  • Information from and around the messenger “Gajim”
    xmpp:gajim@conference.gajim.org

  • For server operators
    xmpp:operators@muc.xmpp.org
    Without registration: read access. Registration is required to be able to create messages yourself:
    https://mail.jabber.org/mailman/listinfo/operators (external)

Suitable software

For the administration of public groups, you should use software that enables extended rights management or full control over chat rooms. For Windows/Linux Gajim can be used; suitable Android apps are monocles chat, Cheogram and aTalk.

Setup

  • Use suitable programs/apps!

  • Use the description of the chat room for “Rules” or refer to a page where these can be found

  • Should the chat room be “moderated”? Depending on this, you have the advantage that either everyone can write immediately - with the risk of garbage messages (“spam”) from strangers. Or that garbage messages are almost impossible in moderated chat rooms - with the additional effort of assigning write permissions for requests.

  • Check all available room settings to see if they fit and change them according to your own wishes if necessary.
    Among other things, it is important that the chat room is “permanent” and is not automatically deleted if no participant is currently present.

  • If possible, do not give ownership rights to just one chat account in case of representation/emergency. Either authorize several people or at least create another chat account and also authorize this chat account as an additional owner in the chat room.

  • For moderated chat rooms, it is an advantage to give several people administration rights. If there are requests for write permissions, it is better to have several people (spread out over the day) who can then process and set them up more quickly.

Moderation

How do you moderate public chat rooms? Tips that support friendly interaction:

  • Pay attention to objectivity and mutual respect, point this out and stick to it yourself.

  • No negative evaluation of / statements about people, as this would be a personal attack - pay attention to the evaluation of statements.

  • Questioning (“Did I understand correctly that …”) helps to avoid misunderstandings!

  • Do not discuss/write everything in public! Avoid escalation!

  • Private messages/conversations often help in “problem cases”. Private messages (PN) are generally very valuable and are often used. These are only addressed to one recipient; others do not see this “PN”.

  • Avoid technical terms, abbreviations and foreign words.

  • Technical moderation (“muting”, kicking out or banning participants, deleting posts, …) is client-dependent (good for this are: Gajim + aTalk) - but also dependent on server software. Example: Removing several participants at once is not possible with (I think) Prosody servers due to a bug.

  • As a room administrator in Conversations, be sure to switch on the server details in the chat room details (I think it was because of the display of the rights assigned to participants).

  • When creating chat rooms, take a look at the possible rights for chat rooms on different servers. There are big differences. Some offer more/different settings than other servers.

  • Allow discussions outside of the main topic and do not stifle them immediately. If something gets too deep/too long/too emotional, intervene and suggest alternatives (direct exchange, more suitable chat rooms).

  • If there are several administrators/moderators, set up/use a separate (non-public) chat room just for them for mutual coordination.

  • In public chat rooms, it is also advisable to reserve “Admin”, “admin”, “Administrator” and “administrator” as nicknames/aliases in the member list and thus block them for others.

Spam protection

What measures are there to protect against SPAM in public chat rooms?

Public chat rooms are - as the name suggests - public. You can ban participants (actually the corresponding chat address) - but this does not always have the desired effect. People who really want to do this are back after a few minutes with a new chat account and a new alias/pseudonym. In this case, the only thing that helps is kicking the troublemaker out and switching the public chat room to “moderated”. New participants then only have read rights and must request write rights.

Tips

To find publicly accessible rooms on a specific topic, there is the page https://search.jabber.network (external). Some programs/apps have built-in functions that also use this site.

Multiple accounts

The use of a second (anonymous) chat account is recommended for public groups. This ensures an easy and simple separation between private and public accessibility.

Vacation reports / travel diary

Groups can also be used, for example, for vacation reports etc. to provide family/friends with news (broadcast list). To do this, create the desired chat room and then set it to “moderated “. This allows all participants to read the content - without disruptive comments disturbing the travel blog. Depending on your needs, the group can be public or by invitation only.
… and the travel diary can be filled with texts, photos, videos, voice memos and interesting news.

Mute groups

In large chat rooms, these notifications can be limited or deactivated so that they do not ring, buzz or vibrate with every new entry. A useful setting is often to only receive a notification when you yourself (nickname/alias) are mentioned.

Öffentliche Chaträume

- Lesezeit: 10 Minuten -

Gruppen, zu denen man einlädt oder eingeladen wird, kennt vermutlich jeder. Neben solchen nichtöffentlichen Gruppen „nur für Mitglieder“ gibt es auch offene Gruppen / öffentliche Chaträume.

Inhalt


Vorwort

Was bedeutet öffentlich?

Öffentlich sind Chaträume, denen jeder ohne Einladung beitreten kann, was durch Ändern der entsprechenden Option von “nur für Mitglieder” auf “öffentlich” festgelegt wird.

Bildlich kann man sich einen öffentlichen Chat dann wie einen öffentlichen Platz vorstellen, zu dem grundsätzlich jeder Zutritt hat. Alles was gesagt wird, wird auf diesem Platz von allen gehört und jeder, der gerade da ist, kann antworten (sofern eine Schreibberechtigung vorhanden ist).

Chatadressen, über die Müllnachrichten eingestellt werden oder über die unter Mißachtung grundlegender Höflichkeitsregeln (sich daneben benehmen) getextet wird, können aus einem Chat hinausgeworfen oder sogar dauerhaft “gebannt” werden.

Funktionsweise

Jeder kann bei „seinem“ Serverbetreiber geschlossene und offene Chatgruppen erstellen. Die Einstellungen sind in der Regel so gewählt, dass nur die Administratoren/Moderatoren die tatsächliche Bezeichnung der Chatkonten sehen. Alle normalen Teilnehmer sehen i.d.R. nur den beim Zutritt gewählten Aliasnamen (Spitzname/engl.:„nickname“) und das eventuell hinterlegte Profilbild. Man kann jederzeit einen solchen öffentlichen Chatraum betreten, verlassen oder auch wieder mit einem anderen Alias beitreten, wenn der gewünschte im Moment von jemand anderem belegt wäre.

Zudem hat jeder im Chat Anwesende eine Rolle, mit der verschiedene “Rechte” verbunden sind: “Besucher”, “Teilnehmer”, “Moderator/Administrator” oder “Besitzer/Eigentümer”. Eine gute Beschreibung zu den Details ist hier zu finden: https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Multi-User_Chat#Die_Rolle_und_Rechte_eines_Anwesenden (extern)

Darüber hinaus können (bei jedem öffentlichen Chat) weitere Einstellungen gemacht werden wie zum Beispiel:

  • Soll der Chat dauerhaft angelegt sein oder beim Verlassen des letzten Anwesenden gelöscht werden?
  • Soll der Raum bei Suchanfragen an den Server sichtbar sein und angezeigt werden?
  • Dürfen Besucher nur mitlesen oder selbst auch Nachrichten schreiben? (Soll der Chatraum “moderiert” sein?)
  • Sollen die Chatadressen unter den Besuchern/Teilnehmern jeweils (öffentlich) sichtbar sein oder nicht?

Umgangsform

Die scheinbare Anonymität (besser: Pseudonymität) eines Chats verleitet immer wieder Teilnehmer zu unangemessenen Beiträgen. Wie für das weltweite Netz die „netiquette“ gelten jedoch auch für öffentliche Chaträume entsprechende Umgangs-/Höflichkeitsformen. Für Neueinsteiger empfiehlt es sich deshalb, nach dem Betreten eines öffentlichen Chatraums eine gewisse Zeit die Beiträge passiv mitzuverfolgen. So bekommt man einen guten Eindruck vom Umgangston und der aktuellen Stimmung, die - wie im realen Leben - schwankt und nicht zu unterschätzen ist. Auch in öffentlichen Chaträumen ist der (eigene) Datenschutz zu beachten.

In der Kürze:
Stets sachlich, respektvoll und vorsichtig bleiben. Das Duzen von Teilnehmern in öffentlichen Chaträumen ist normal - ist jedoch nicht auf das realen Leben zu übertragen.

Mehr Infos:
https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Netiquette (extern)
https://www.netplanet.org/netiquette/chat.shtml (extern)

Nutzen

Es kommen Personen zusammen, die im sonstigen Leben keinen Bezug zueinander haben müssen. An dieser zentralen Stelle jedoch können Probleme, Fragen, Meinungen zu einem Thema ausgetauscht werden. Die Gruppengröße ist nicht begrenzt. So gibt es beispielsweise öffentliche Chaträume mit mehreren hundert Teilnehmern. Somit ist der Erfahrungsschatz entsprechend groß und es findet sich fast immer jemanden, der eine Antwort geben kann und hilft.

Beispiele

Öffentliche Chaträume gibt es unzählige. Hier eine kleine Auswahl aktiver Gruppen:

Natürlich zur Initiative „Freie Messenger
xmpp:freie-messenger@conference.jabber.de
Alles rund um „Jabber(XMPP) / Conversations & Co. / Gajim, Yaxim, Dino, Monal, Siskin, … / ‘sichere’ Messenger“
xmpp:chatstandard@chat.openim.de
Alles rund um das Thema „IT-Sicherheit, Datenschutz und Privatsphäre
xmpp:it@chat.disroot.org

Englischsprachige Gruppen bei denen auch die Entwickler der Programme mit dabei sind:

  • Informationen von und rund um den Messenger “Conversations”
    xmpp:conversations@conference.siacs.eu

  • Informationen von und rund um den Messenger „Gajim“
    xmpp:gajim@conference.gajim.org

  • Für Serverbetreiber
    xmpp:operators@muc.xmpp.org
    Ohne Anmeldung: Lesezugriff. Um selbst auch Nachrichten erstellen zu können, ist eine Anmeldung erforderlich:
    https://mail.jabber.org/mailman/listinfo/operators (extern)

Geeignete Software

Zur Administration von öffentlichen Gruppen sollte man eine Software verwenden, die eine erweiterte Rechteverwaltung bzw. volle Kontrolle Über Chaträume ermöglicht. für Windows/Linux kann dazu Gajim verwendet werden; geeignete Android-Apps sind monocles chat, Cheogram und aTalk.

Einrichtung

  • Geeignete Programme/Apps verwenden!

  • Beschreibung des Chatraums für „Regeln“ nutzen oder dort auf eine Seite verweisen, wo diese nachzulesen sind

  • Soll der Chatraum „moderiert“ sein? Je nach dem hat man den Vorteil, daß entweder jeder sofort schreiben kann - mit der Gefahr von Müllnachrichten (“Spam”) durch Fremde. Oder daß bei moderierten Chaträumen Müllnachrichten fast ausgeschlossen sind - mit dem zusätzlichen Aufwand, bei Anfragen entsprechend Schreibrechten zu vergeben.

  • Alle verfügbaren Raumeinstellungen prüfen, ob diese passen und ggf. den eigenen Wünschen entsprechend ändern.
    Wichtig hier ist u.a., dass der Chatraum „dauerhaft“ ist und nicht automatisch gelöscht wird, wenn gerade kein Teilnehmer anwesend ist.

  • Wenn möglich nicht nur ein Chatkonto mit Eigentumsrechten ausstatten wegen Vertretungs-/Notfall. Entweder auf mehrere Personen berechtigen oder zumindest ein weiteres Chatkonto anlegen und dieses Chatkonto ebenfalls als weiteren Eigentümer im Chatraum berechtigen.

  • Für moderierte Chaträume mehrere Personen mit Administrationsrechten ausstatten ist von Vorteil. Wenn Anfragen auf Schreibrechte kommen, sind mehrere Personen (da zeitlich über den Tag verteilt) besser, die das dann schneller bearbeiten und einrichten können.

Moderation

Wie moderiert man öffentliche Chaträume? Tipps, die die ein freundliches Miteinander unterstützen:

  • Auf Sachlichkeit und gegenseitigen Respekt achten, darauf hinweisen und sich selbst daran halten.

  • Keine negative Wertung von / Äußerungen zu Personen, da das ein persönlicher Angriff wäre - Augenmerk auf Wertung von Aussagen legen.

  • Hinterfragen („Habe ich es richtig verstanden, dass …“) hilft, Mißverständnisse zu vermeiden!

  • Nicht alles öffentlich austragen/schreiben! Eskalation vermeiden!

  • Bei “Problemfällen” helfen oft auch private Nachrichten/Gespräche. Private Nachrichten (PN) sind generell sehr wertvoll und werden oft genutzt. Diese sind nur an einen Empfänger gerichtet; andere sehen diese „PN“ nicht.

  • Fachbegriffe, Abkürzungen und Fremdwörter vermeiden.

  • Technische Moderation („Stummschalten“, Rauswerfen oder Bannen von Teilnehmern, Löschen von Beiträgen, …) ist clientabhänig (gut dafür sind: Gajim + aTalk) - aber auch abhängig von Serversoftware. Beispiel: Mehrere Teilnehmer auf einmal entfernen geht bei (glaube) Prosody-Servern auf Grund eines Bugs nicht.

  • Als Raumadministrator in Conversations unbedingt bei sich die Serverdetails bei den Chatraumdetails einschalten (wegen der Anzeige der Rechtevergabe an Teilnehmer).

  • Beim Anlegen von Chaträumen die möglichen Rechte für Chaträume auf verschiedenen Servern mal anschauen. Da gibt es große Unterschiede. Manche bieten mehr/andere Einstellungen als andere Server.

  • Diskussionen auch abseits des Hauptthemas mal zulassen und nicht sofort abwürgen. Wenn etwas zu tief/zu lang/zu emotional wird, dann eingreifen und Alternativen (direkter Austausch, besser passende Chaträume) vorschlagen.

  • Bei mehreren Administratoren/Moderatoren ggf. einen separaten (nichtöffentlichen) Chatraum nur für diese einrichten/nutzen zur gegenseitigen Abstimmung.

  • In öffentlichen Chaträumen empfiehlt es sich auch, „Admin“, „admin“, „Administrator“ und „administrator“ als Spitzname/Alias in der Mitgliederliste zu reservieren und somit für andere zu blockieren.

Spamschutz

Welche Maßnahmen zum Schutz vor SPAM in öffentlichen Chaträumen gibt es?

Öffentliche Chaträume sind -wie es dar Name schon sagt- öffentlich. Man kann zwar Teilnehmer (eigentlich die entsprechende Chatadresse) bannen - aber das bringt nicht immer den gewünschten Erfolg. Leute, die es wirklich darauf anlegen sind nach wenigen Minuten mit einem neuen Chatkonto und neuem Alias/Pseudonym wieder da. In dem Fall hilft nur das Hinauswerfen des Störers und Umschalten des öffentlichen Chatraums auf „moderiert“. Dann haben neue Teilnehmer lediglich Leserechte und müssen um Schreibrechte zu bekommen anfragen.

Tipps

Raumsuche

Um öffentlich zugängliche Räume zu einem bestimmten Thema zu finden, gibt es die Seite https://search.jabber.network (extern). In einigen Programmen/Apps sind Funktionen eingebaut, die ebenfalls hierauf zurückgreifen.

Mehrere Konten

Für öffentliche Gruppen wird die Nutzung eines zweiten (anonymen) Chatkontos empfohlen. Damit ist eine leichte und einfache Trennung zwischen privater und öffentlicher Erreichbarkeit gewährleistet.

Urlaubsberichte / Reisetagebuch

Gruppen können beispielsweise auch für Urlaubsberichte u.ä. verwendet werden um die Famile/Freunde mit Neuigkeiten (engl.: broadcast list) zu versorgen. Hierzu den gewünschten Chatraum erstellen und diesen dann auf „moderiert“ stellen. Somit können alle Teilnehmer die Inhalte lesen - ohne daß störende Kommentare den Reiseblog stören. Je nach Bedarf hier kann die Gruppe öffentlich oder nur auf Einladung sein.
… und schon kann das Reisetagebuch mit Texten, Fotos, Videos, Sprachmemos und interessanten Neuigkeiten gefüllt werden.

Gruppen stummschalten

Um bei großen Chaträumen nicht bei jedem neuen Eintrag ein Gebimmel, Summen oder Vibrieren zu haben, können diese Benachrichtigungen begrenzt oder auch deaktiviert werden. Eine sinnvolle Einstellung ist oft die, nur eine Benachrichtigung zu erhalten, wenn man selbst (der Spitzname/Alias) erwähnt wird.