Signal

- Reading time: 17 minutes -

General

Just like WhatsApp, Signal is de facto a closed system, also uses only phone numbers for registration, uses the same encryption and is also headquartered in the United States of America (USA). Matthew Rosenfeld (aka “Moxie Marlinspike”) is co-founder and the current CEO.

  • positive: good end-to-end encryption with “Axolotl” (external; PDF file), which is the basis for many other implementations
  • positive: good lobbying; “official recommendation” by Edward Snowden
  • positive: client is open source throughout
  • positive: own servers are possible (but these are then self-contained systems!)
  • negative: ”… when using Signal, data protection concerns remain, especially because this service processes personal data of its users outside the scope of the GDPR. The use of this messenger service can therefore not be recommended.” Source: EKD (external; PDF file dated 24.10.2018)
  • negative: File size limits for video, audio and documents max. 100 MB (external), for GIF files max. 25 MB (external)
  • negative: centralized service - no interoperability
  • negative: actual server software used does not have to match the version published on GitHub
  • negative: terms of use (external) as well as privacy policy in English only
  • negative: only phone number as identifier (no matter if with/without hash)
  • negative: in group chats the own phone number is shown to the others
  • negative: no federation with other servers
  • negative: no standalone/independent desktop client (no login/usage without smartphone)
  • negative: no multi-device capability (use one chat account on multiple independent devices)
  • negative: the desktop application is based on Electron
  • negative: forks of the Signal app are actually not allowed to use Signal’s server
  • negative: weaknesses in authentication for encryption
  • negative: uses Google reCAPTCHA (information: https://dr-dsgvo.de/google-recaptcha (external))
  • negative: minimum age 13 years (may differ per country)
  • negative: now with cryptocurrency “MobileCoin” (external) / comment on this by Fefe (external)
  • negative: does not use own servers but Amazon infrastructure

At this point extra again the hint: If a wrong or outdated information is found, please let me know! >> Contact <<

Telephone numbers

Hash values from phone numbers are not a security feature, because phone numbers can be determined from the hash values without any problems (keyword “rainbow table” (external)). Signal also sends a registration SMS to each individual user. In plain text, the number may not be transmitted to Signal, that may be true - but at the latest during registration, it is known and thus they know every number of all users. Even internal phone numbers or secret numbers of companies, authorities and organizations with security tasks (BOS) or women’s shelters that use Signal. This is all fine - of course not!

Registration without mobile number

Tip: For the registration at Signal it is not necessary to enter your actually used mobile number. You can use an extra SIM card with a different mobile number - or an unused landline number (also works with the phone number of a public phone booth!). In this case, the confirmation SMS with the verification code is read out over the phone.

Sources: netzwelt.de (external) / vice.com (external; English)

Cryptocurrency

Critical voices and reactions to Signal Payments:

Replicas of the app

One can easily take Signal from the Aurora Store or download it directly as APK from the Signal website (external), which then runs quite smoothly on google-free devices.

Alternatively, you can also use Signal forks like Langis, Molly (external) and Signal FOSS (external) via an additional F-Droid repo. Replicas/forks are prohibited from using Signal servers according to Mr. Rosenfeld (Moxie), but perhaps Signal has not yet established a system that actively detects and blocks this. With each fork, there is also the question of whether and how the code for the cryptocurrency was taken out and whether Signal then still allows client access to the quasi-proprietary servers.

Signal itself does not want the original app to be made available via F-Droid.
Source: Github (external)

Server code

Signal has always been hailed as the security-conscious alternative to WhatsApp and co. because it’s open source. But the company got “caught” in the fact that the server code that was in use didn’t match the public code for almost a year. Here are the published versions of the server code until (as of) 07/14/2021 from which it can be seen that even in the past many versions (external) were repeatedly not published:

  • v6.13.0 … 8 days ago
  • v6.12.0 … 8 days ago
  • v6.11 … 11 days ago
  • v6.9 … 13 days ago
  • v6.8 … on 11 Jun
  • v5.98 … on 2 Jun
  • v5.97 … on 28 May
  • v5.96 … on 27 May
  • v5.31 on 17 Feb
  • v5.30 on 17 Feb
  • v5.23 on 3 Feb
  • v4.97 on 14 Jan
  • v4.93 … on 11 Jan
  • v0.93 … on 10 Mar 2016
  • v0.54 … on 25 Jun 2015
  • v0.53 … on 25 Jun 2015
  • v0.52 … on 24 Jun 2015
  • v0.50 … on 7 Jun 2015
  • v0.49 … on 13 May 2015
  • v0.48 … on 22 Apr 2015

The reason will be the integration of the cryptocurrency (MobileCoin), which is already completely (pre)mined.

But:

  1. that’s fine, because the server code belongs to Signal (https://github.com/signalapp/storage-service) and there is no obligation to publish it!
  2. this shows (again) clearly the dependency one gets into with a central provider.

Notes on the license (“AGPL”):
The license applies only to anyone who ever uses signal code published under this license. The original authors of the code may change the license at any time. Licenses are generally only the terms of use for everyone else who does not hold the copyright or relevant usage rights to the code itself. See also Contributor License Agreement (CLA) (external). Also unreleased software (in this case parts of the server software that have an update) is their property. Presumably that’s why there are no allowed merge requests from others on GitHub.

Report:
https://androidpolice.com/2021/04/06/it-looks-like-signal-isnt-as-open-source-as-you-thought-it-was-anymore/ (external; English)

Server usage forbidden

Mr. Rosenfeld (“Moxie”) has called OpenSignal a “product” and forbidden them to address the official Signal servers or have anything with Signal in the name:

I’m not OK with LibreSignal using our servers, and I’m not OK with LibreSignal using the name “Signal.” You’re free to use our source code for whatever you would like under the terms of the license, but you’re not entitled to use our name or the service that we run.
If you think running servers is difficult and expensive (you’re right), ask yourself why you feel entitled for us to run them for your product.

In response to the question about the federation of servers:

It is unlikely that we will ever federate with any servers outside of our control again, it makes changes really difficult.

Source: https://github.com/LibreSignal/LibreSignal/issues/37#issuecomment-217211165 (external; Englisch; 05.05.2016)

Encryption/Authentication

Encryption includes authentication, because without authentication the best encryption is useless. But Signal has (apparently) a weak one:

_“… Unfortunately, Signal’s default authentication scheme is weak. It is arguably worse than X.509’s CA system as used on the web, which is notoriously bad. It relies on a single CA, which is controlled by Signal who also controls the messaging infrastructure. This places Signal in an optimal position to perform a machine-in-the-middle attack on their users like the one described in GCHQ’s Ghost proposal. But, Signal has rightfully earned a trustworthy reputation. …”

Source: sequioa-pgp.org (external; Englisch)

I understand that PGP and authentication are great and important ideas, but unfortunately they no longer have a place in the modern world. Moxie Marlinspike

Source: searched

Encrypted database

Next time someone asks for “encrypted database because Signal” do give them… > iOS: https://blog.elcomsoft.com/2019/08/how-to-extract-and-decrypt-signal-conversation-history-from-the-iphone/ (external) > Android: https://www.cellebrite.com/en/blog/cellebrites-new-solution-for-decrypting-the-signal-app/ (external)

Secure data recovery

Also the “secure value recovery (SVR)” this is in the criticism: blog.cryptographyengineering.com

DSGVO/GDPR

here are no German terms of use and no German privacy policy. Do the English version have legal validity in Germany? Regardless, Signal writes in the introductory words to the GDPR (external):

In Signal messages and calls cannot be viewed by us, or by third parties, as they are always end-to-end encrypted, private to us secure.

“are secure to us” is not a typo on my part - it’s not content that’s interesting here, but the metadata that accumulates (security =/= privacy).

And in the “Terms of Service” of the further:

Additional technical information is stored on our servers, including randomly generated authentication tokens, keys, push tokens, and other material that is necessary to establish calls and transmit messages.

… which keys are actually stored there?

In the “Privacy Policy” it is explicitly (but unnecessarily) pointed out that the phone number, the profile name and the profile picture are of course always end-to-end encrypted - but what was that again with the metadata in central systems?!

Apparently Google automatically gets that you use Signal:

PING contentproxy.signal.org (107.178.250.75) = Google
Sieht man auch gut so:
$ host contentproxy.signal.org
contentproxy.signal.org has address 107.178.250.75
$ host 107.178.250.75
75.250.178.107.in-addr.arpa domain name pointer 75.250.178.107.bc.googleusercontent.com.

Warum Signal auf Amazon Servern (AWS) läuft -dieser Part aber bei Google- erschließt sich nicht so ohne Weiteres. Vielleicht wollen sie nicht, dass AWS alle Zugriffsdaten abgreifen und korrelieren kann oder vielleicht sollen die “Verkehrsdaten” und die “Metadaten” nicht beim selben Dienstleister und getrennt voneinander sein?

Bei https://signal.org/blog/looking-back-on-the-front/ (extern) wird zumindest erklärt, warum keine eigenen Signal Server genutzt werden.

Das Sicherheitsmodell in Bezug auf Metadaten läßt sich verkürzt mit „vertraue dem zentralen Betreiber“ beschreiben, denn „The ecosystem is moving“ …

The ecosystem is moving

Von Moxie (Mitgründer und Geschäftsführer) gibt es aufbauend auf eine Ausführung von 2016 einen Vortrag von 28.12.2019 mit dem Thema „the ecosystem is moving“ beim Chaos Computer Club („CCC“). Hier wird auf Vor-/Nachteile von zentralen und dezentralen Systemen eingegangen. Natürlich wird Signal hier als die Lösung angepriesen.

Die Argumentation des Signal-Geschäftsführers für sein Produkt ist jedoch umstritten und wird oft überbewertet. Viele dort aufgeführte Argumente stimmen zwar, aber der „Wert der Freiheit“ wird ignoriert. Letztendlich geht es (vielen) nicht nur um technische Sicherheit, sondern vielmehr um Zukunftssicherheit.

Hier verschiedene Quellen/Informationen zu “The ecosystem is moving” (leider alle englisch):

I had asked for it not to be recorded (which is what I’ve been doing with talks for the past 5yrs or so). Seems like there was some confusion, and it was recorded/published, then removed. … I just prefer to present something as part of a conversation that’s happening in a place, rather than a webinar that I’m broadcasting forever to the world. I have less faith in the internet as a place where a conversation can happen, and the timelessness of it decontextualizes.
Quelle: https://nitter.net/moxie/status/1211443530335281153 (extern)

  • 29.12.2019: Opinion from Jabber(XMPP) (external)

  • 02.01.2020: Opinion from Matrix (external)

    HOWEVER: all of this completely ignores one critical thing - the value of freedom. Freedom to select which server to use. Freedom to run your own server (perhaps invisibly in your app, in a P2P world). Freedom to pick which country your server runs in. Freedom to select how much metadata and history to keep. Freedom to choose which apps to use - while still having the freedom to talk to anyone you like (without them necessarily installing yet another app). Freedom to connect your own functionality - bots, bridges, integrations etc. Freedom to select which identifiers (if any) to use to register your account. Freedom to extend the protocol. Freedom to write your own client, or build whole new as-yet-unimagined systems on top.

    It’s true that if you’re writing a messaging app optimised for privacy at any cost, Moxie’s approach is one way to do it. However, this ends up being a perversely closed world - a closed network, where unofficial clients are banned, with no platform to build on, no open standards, and you end up thoroughly putting all your eggs in one basket, trusting past, present & future Signal to retain its values, stay up and somehow dodge compromise & censorship… despite probably being the single highest value attack target on the ‘net.

    Quite simply, that isn’t a world I want to live in.

    We owe the entire success of the Internet (let alone the Web) to openness, interoperability and decentralisation. To declare that openness, interoperability and decentralisation is ‘too hard’ and not worth the effort when building a messaging solution is to throw away all the potential of the vibrancy, creativity and innovation that comes from an open network. Sure, you may end up with a super-private messaging app - but one that starts to smell alarmingly like a walled garden like Facebook’s Internet.org initiative, or an AOL keyword, or Google’s AMP.

    So, we continue to gladly take up Moxie’s challenge to prove him wrong - to show that it’s both possible and imperative to create an open decentralised messaging platform which (if you use reputable apps and servers) can be as secure and metadata-protecting as Signal… and indeed more so, given you can run your server off the grid, and don’t need to register with a phone number, and in future may not even need a server at all.

7 reasons

Here are the headlines from a lengthy commentary “7 valid reasons why you should never trust Signal over the air, either

  1. the mobile number compulsion
  2. funding
    2a.) Brian Acton
    2b.) Open Tech Fund = money from US government https://www.opentech.fund/results/supported-projects/open-whisper-systems (external)
    2c.) What happens when the money runs out? What happens to Signal then?
  3. Amazon΄s cloud AWS (related: https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/CLOUD_Act )
  4. conspicuous “security holes” in three US messengers - of course patched (plugged) in the meantime:
    • Facebook’s WhatsApp: “The attacker can inject the spyware into the respective device simply by making a WhatsApp call, even if the called party doesn’t even pick up.” / https://heise.de/-4421379 (external)
    • Apple’s iMessage: “A Google security researcher describes how malicious code can be remotely injected into iPhones without user interaction.” / https://heise.de/-4632972 (external)
    • and just the SignalApp: “Big eavesdropping call: Signal accepts calls by itself” / https://heise.de/-4546500 (external)
  5. Signal wants to be SMS replacement
  6. legal sphere of influence of USA and now also EU
  7. “Moxie Marlinspike” (external) is only a stage name

Source: Comment in Heise-Forum (external)

Tips

  • Step-by-step instructions (external; English) on how to use Signal without a smartphone
  • Signal Android app directly and without Aurora/PlayStore: from the Signal page download the hidden APK (external) - updates without Aurora/PlayStore

Webbkoll

Result of page analysis by Webbkoll Source: https://webbkoll.dataskydd.net/de/results?url=http%3A%2F%2Fsignal.org (external)

References


Conclusion

Signal as a messenger is certainly “safe” - however, one is dependent on a single provider.

Signal

- Lesezeit: 17 Minuten -

Allgemein

Genauso wie WhatsApp ist Signal de facto ein geschlossenes System, nutzt auch ausschließlich Telefonnummern für die Registrierung, verwendet die selbe Verschlüsselung und hat den Firmensitz ebenfalls in den Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika (USA). Matthew Rosenfeld (alias „Moxie Marlinspike“) ist Mitgründer und der aktuelle Geschäftsführer.

  • positiv: gute Ende-zu-Ende-Verschlüsselung mit „Axolotl“ (extern; PDF-Datei), das Grundlage für viele andere Implementierungen ist
  • positiv: gute Lobbyarbeit; “offizielle Empfehlung” von Edward Snowden
  • positiv: Client ist durchgängig quelloffen
  • positiv: eigene Server sind möglich (diese sind dann jedoch in sich geschlossene Systeme)
  • negativ: „… beim Einsatz von Signal verbleiben Datenschutzbedenken vor allem, weil dieser Dienst personenbezogene Daten seiner Nutzer außerhalb des Geltungsbereichs der DSGVO verarbeitet. Der Gebrauch dieses Messenger-Dienstes kann daher nicht empfohlen werden.“ Quelle: EKD (extern; PDF-Datei vom 24.10.2018)
  • negativ: Dateigrößenbeschränkungen für Video, Audio und Dokumente max. 100 MB (extern), für GIF-Dateien max. 25 MB (extern)
  • negativ: zentraler Dienst - keine Interoperabilität
  • negativ: tatsächlich eingesetzte Serversoftware muß nicht mit der auf GitHub veröffentlichten Version übereinstimmen
  • negativ: Nutzungsbedingungen (extern) sowie Datenschutzerklärung nur auf Englisch
  • negativ: ausschließlich Telefonnummer als Kennung (egal ob mit/ohne Hash)
  • negativ: in Gruppenchats wird die eigene Telefonnummer den anderen angezeigt
  • negativ: keine Föderation mit anderen Servern
  • negativ: kein eigenständiger/unabhängiger Desktop-Client (ohne Smartphone keine Anmeldung/Nutzung)
  • negativ: keine Mehrgerätefähigkeit (ein Chatkonto auf mehreren unabhängigen Geräten nutzen)
  • negativ: die Desktopanwendung basiert auf Electron
  • negativ: Forks der Signal-App dürfen den Server von Signal eigentlich nicht nutzen
  • negativ: Schwächen bei der Authentifizierung für die Verschlüsselung
  • negativ: Nutzt Google reCAPTCHA (Infos: https://dr-dsgvo.de/google-recaptcha (extern))
  • negativ: Mindestalter 13 Jahre (kann je Land abweichend sein)
  • negativ: jetzt mit Kryptowährung „MobileCoin“ (extern) / Kommentar dazu von Fefe (extern)
  • negativ: nutzt keine eigenen Server sondern Amazon-Infrastruktur

An dieser Stelle extra nochmals der Hinweis: Falls eine falsche oder veraltete Information gefunden wird, bitte Bescheid geben! >> Kontakt <<

Telefonnummern

Hashwerte aus Telefonnummern sind kein Sicherheitsmerkmal, denn Telefonnummern lassen sich aus den Hashwerten ohne Probleme wieder ermitteln (Stichwort „Regenbogentabelle / rainbow table“ (extern)). Außerdem sendet Signal jedem einzelnen Nutzer eine Registrierungs-SMS. Im Klartext wird die Nummer vielleicht nicht an Signal übertragen, das mag stimmen - aber spätestens bei der Registrierung ist diese bekannt und damit kennen sie jede Nummer aller Nutzer. Auch interne Telefonnummern oder Geheimnummern von Firmen, Behörden und Organisationen mit Sicherheitsaufgaben (BOS) oder von Frauenhäusern, die Signal nutzen. Das ist alles in Ordnung - natürlich nicht!

Registrierung ohne Mobilnummer

Tipp: Für die Registrierung bei Signal ist es nicht erforderlich, seine tatsächlich genutzte Mobilnummer anzugeben. Man kann hierfür eine extra SIM-Karte mit anderer Mobilnummer verwenden - oder auch eine ungenutzte Festnetznummer (funktioniert auch mit der Telefonnummer einer öffentlichen Telefonzelle!). In diesem Fall bekommt man die Bestätigungs-SMS mit dem Überprüfungscode telefonisch vorgelesen.

Quellen: netzwelt.de (extern) / vice.com (extern; Englisch)

Kryptowährung

Kritische Stimmen und Reaktionen zu Signal Payments:

Nachbauten der App

Man kann Signal problemlos vom Aurora Store nehmen oder direkt als APK von der Signal Webseite (extern) herunterladen, die dann auch durchaus problemlos auf googlefreien Geräten läuft.

Alternativ kann man per zusätzlichem F-Droid Repo auch Signal-Forks nutzen wie Langis, Molly (extern) und Signal FOSS (extern). Nachbauten/Abspaltungen ist die Nutzung der Signal-Server lt. Herrn Rosenfeld (Moxie) zwar verboten, aber vielleicht hat Signal noch kein System etabliert, das das aktiv erkennt und blockiert. Bei jeder Abspaltung stellt sich auch noch die Frage, ob und wie der Code für die Kryptowährung rausgenommen wurde und ob Signal dann den Zugriff des Clients auf die quasi proprietären Server noch erlaubt.

Signal selbst möchte nicht, dass die Original-App per F-Droid zur Verfügung gestellt wird.
Quelle: Github (extern)

Servercode

Signal wird seit jeher als die sicherheitsbewusste Alternative zu WhatsApp und Co. gepriesen, da es quelloffen ist. Aber die Firma wurde dabei „erwischt“, daß der Servercode der im Einsatz war fast ein Jahr lang nicht dem öffentlichen Code entsprochen hat. Hier die veröffentlichten Versionen des Server-Codes bis (Stand) 14.07.2021 aus dem ersichtlich wird, daß auch in der Vergangenheit viele Versionen (extern) immer wieder nicht veröffentlicht wurden:

  • v6.13.0 … 8 days ago
  • v6.12.0 … 8 days ago
  • v6.11 … 11 days ago
  • v6.9 … 13 days ago
  • v6.8 … on 11 Jun
  • v5.98 … on 2 Jun
  • v5.97 … on 28 May
  • v5.96 … on 27 May
  • v5.31 on 17 Feb
  • v5.30 on 17 Feb
  • v5.23 on 3 Feb
  • v4.97 on 14 Jan
  • v4.93 … on 11 Jan
  • v0.93 … on 10 Mar 2016
  • v0.54 … on 25 Jun 2015
  • v0.53 … on 25 Jun 2015
  • v0.52 … on 24 Jun 2015
  • v0.50 … on 7 Jun 2015
  • v0.49 … on 13 May 2015
  • v0.48 … on 22 Apr 2015

Der Grund wird die Integration der Kryptowährung (MobileCoin) sein, die schon komplett (vor)geschürft ist.

Aber:

  1. Das ist in Ordnung, denn der Servercode gehört Signal (https://github.com/signalapp/storage-service) und es besteht keine Verpflichtung zur Veröffentlichung!
  2. Das zeigt (wieder) deutlich die Abhängigkeit, in die man sich bei einem zentralen Anbieter begibt.

Anmerkungen zur Lizenz („AGPL“):
Die Lizenz trifft nur auf alle anderen zu, die jemals Signal-Code verwenden, der unter dieser Lizenz veröffentlicht wurde. Die Originalautoren vom Code können jederzeit die Lizenz beliebig ändern. Lizenzen sind generell immer nur die Nutzungsbedingungen für alle anderen, die nicht das Urheberrecht bzw. relevante Nutzungsrechte am Code selbst halten. Siehe auch Contributor License Agreement (CLA) (extern). Auch unveröffentlichte Software (in diesem Fall Teile der Server-Software die ein Update haben) ist deren Eigentum. Vermutlich gibt es deshalb auch keine erlaubten Aufnahmeanträge von Verbesserungen oder Ergänzungen (sog. „merge requests“) von Anderen bei GitHub.

Bericht:
https://androidpolice.com/2021/04/06/it-looks-like-signal-isnt-as-open-source-as-you-thought-it-was-anymore/ (extern; englisch)

Servernutzung verboten

Hr. Rosenfeld („Moxie“) hat OpenSignal als “Produkt” bezeichnet und ihnen verboten, die offiziellen Signal-Server anzusprechen oder irgendwas mit Signal im Namen zu haben:

I’m not OK with LibreSignal using our servers, and I’m not OK with LibreSignal using the name “Signal.” You’re free to use our source code for whatever you would like under the terms of the license, but you’re not entitled to use our name or the service that we run.
If you think running servers is difficult and expensive (you’re right), ask yourself why you feel entitled for us to run them for your product.

Auf die Frage zur Föderation von Servern:

It is unlikely that we will ever federate with any servers outside of our control again, it makes changes really difficult.

Quelle: https://github.com/LibreSignal/LibreSignal/issues/37#issuecomment-217211165 (extern; englisch; 05.05.2016)

Verschlüsselung/Authentifizierung

Zur Verschlüsselung gehört auch Authentifizierung, denn ohne Authentifikation bringt die beste Verschlüsselung nichts. Aber Signal hat (anscheinend) eine schwache:

_“… Unfortunately, Signal’s default authentication scheme is weak. It is arguably worse than X.509’s CA system as used on the web, which is notoriously bad. It relies on a single CA, which is controlled by Signal who also controls the messaging infrastructure. This places Signal in an optimal position to perform a machine-in-the-middle attack on their users like the one described in GCHQ’s Ghost proposal. But, Signal has rightfully earned a trustworthy reputation. …”

Quelle: sequioa-pgp.org (extern; englisch)

I understand that PGP and authentication are great and important ideas, but unfortunately they no longer have a place in the modern world. Moxie Marlinspike

Quelle: gesucht

Verschlüsselte Datenbank

Next time someone asks for “encrypted database because Signal” do give them… iOS: https://blog.elcomsoft.com/2019/08/how-to-extract-and-decrypt-signal-conversation-history-from-the-iphone/ Android: https://www.cellebrite.com/en/blog/cellebrites-new-solution-for-decrypting-the-signal-app/

Sichere Datenwiederherstellung

Auch die „secure value recovery (SVR)“ diese steht in der Kritik: blog.cryptographyengineering.com

DSGVO/GDPR

Es liegen keine deutschen Nutzungsbedingungen und keine deutsche Datenschutzerklärung vor. Haben die englische Version in Deutschland Rechtsgültigkeit? Unabhängig davon schreibt Signal in den einführenden Worten zur DSGVO (extern):

In Signal-Nachrichten und -Anrufe können weder von uns, noch von Dritten eingesehen werden, da sie stets Ende-zu-Ende verschlüsselt, privat uns sicher sind.

„uns sicher sind“ ist kein Tippfehler meinerseits - dabei sind nicht Inhalte interessant, sondern die anfallenden Metadaten (Sicherheit =/= Datenschutz).

Und in den „Terms of Service“ (=Nutzungsbedingungen) des Weiteren:

Additional technical information is stored on our servers, including randomly generated authentication tokens, keys, push tokens, and other material that is necessary to establish calls and transmit messages.

… welche Schlüssel („keys“) konkret werden dort gespeichert?

In der „Privacy Policy“ wird explizit (aber unnötigerweise) darauf hingewiesen, daß die Telefonnummer, der Profilname und das Profilbild natürlich immer Ende-zu-Ende-Verschlüsselt sind - aber wie war das nochmal mit den Metadaten bei zentralen Systemen?!

Anscheinend bekommt Google automatisch mit, daß man Signal nutzt:

PING contentproxy.signal.org (107.178.250.75) = Google
Sieht man auch gut so:
$ host contentproxy.signal.org
contentproxy.signal.org has address 107.178.250.75
$ host 107.178.250.75
75.250.178.107.in-addr.arpa domain name pointer 75.250.178.107.bc.googleusercontent.com.

Why Signal is running on Amazon servers (AWS) -but this part is on Google- is not readily apparent. Perhaps they don’t want AWS to be able to access and correlate all access data, or perhaps the “traffic data” and the “metadata” are not supposed to be with the same service provider and separate from each other?

At least https://signal.org/blog/looking-back-on-the-front/ (external) explains why they don’t use their own Signal servers.

The security model with regard to metadata can be shortened to “trust the central operator”, because “the ecosystem is moving” …

The ecosystem is moving

Von Moxie (Mitgründer und Geschäftsführer) gibt es aufbauend auf eine Ausführung von 2016 einen Vortrag von 28.12.2019 mit dem Thema „the ecosystem is moving“ beim Chaos Computer Club („CCC“). Hier wird auf Vor-/Nachteile von zentralen und dezentralen Systemen eingegangen. Natürlich wird Signal hier als die Lösung angepriesen.

Die Argumentation des Signal-Geschäftsführers für sein Produkt ist jedoch umstritten und wird oft überbewertet. Viele dort aufgeführte Argumente stimmen zwar, aber der „Wert der Freiheit“ wird ignoriert. Letztendlich geht es (vielen) nicht nur um technische Sicherheit, sondern vielmehr um Zukunftssicherheit.

Hier verschiedene Quellen/Informationen zu “The ecosystem is moving” (leider alle englisch):

  • 10.05.2016: Artikel Matthew Rosenfeld (alias Moxie Marlinspike) (extern)

  • 30.11.2016: Einwände Daniel Gultsch (extern)

  • 28.12.2019: Vortrag Matthew Rosenfeld (alias Moxie Marlinspike) (extern; gelöscht)
    Anmerkung: Der Vortrag ist auch nicht mehr unter berlin-ak.ftp.media.ccc.de (extern; gelöscht) vorhanden - er ist derzeit dennoch In Youtube (extern) zu finden.

  • 29.12.2019: Begründung Matthew Rosenfeld (alias Moxie Marlinspike) für das Offline-nehmen des Videos:

    I had asked for it not to be recorded (which is what I’ve been doing with talks for the past 5yrs or so). Seems like there was some confusion, and it was recorded/published, then removed. … I just prefer to present something as part of a conversation that’s happening in a place, rather than a webinar that I’m broadcasting forever to the world. I have less faith in the internet as a place where a conversation can happen, and the timelessness of it decontextualizes.
    Quelle: https://nitter.net/moxie/status/1211443530335281153 (extern)

  • 29.12.2019: Meinung seitens Jabber(XMPP) (extern)

  • 02.01.2020: Meinung seitens Matrix (extern)
    Teilübersetzung der Meinung von Matrix zu Moxi Marlinspikes Meinung “The ecosystem ist moving”:

    … WIE auch immer: all dies [die vorgenannten Fakten] ignoriert eine kritische Sache völlig - den Wert der Freiheit. Die Freiheit zu wählen, welchen Server man benutzen will. Die Freiheit, Ihren eigenen Server zu betreiben (vielleicht unsichtbar in Ihrer Anwendung, in einer P2P-Welt). Die Freiheit zu wählen, in welchem Land Ihr Server läuft. Die Freiheit zu wählen, wie viele Metadaten und die Historie aufbewahrt werden sollen. Die Freiheit zu wählen, welche Apps Sie benutzen wollen - und trotzdem die Freiheit zu haben, mit jedem zu sprechen, den Sie mögen (ohne dass dieser notwendigerweise eine weitere App installiert). Die Freiheit, Ihre eigene Funktionalität zu verbinden - Bots, Bridges, Integrationen etc. Die Freiheit zu wählen, welche Identifikatoren (falls vorhanden) Sie für die Registrierung Ihres Kontos verwenden möchten. Die Freiheit, das Protokoll zu erweitern. Die Freiheit, Ihren eigenen Client zu schreiben oder ganz neue, bisher ungeahnte Systeme darauf zu bauen.

    Es stimmt, dass wenn Sie eine für den Datenschutz optimierte Messaging-App um jeden Preis schreiben, ist Moxies Ansatz eine Möglichkeit, dies zu tun. Jedoch endet dies in einer pervers geschlossenen Welt - ein geschlossenes Netzwerk, in dem inoffizielle Clients verboten sind, ohne Plattform, auf der man aufbauen kann, ohne offene Standards, und man endet damit, dass man alles auf eine Karte setzt und darauf vertraut, dass Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft Signal seine Werte behalten, wach bleiben und irgendwie Kompromissen und Zensur ausweichen… obwohl es wahrscheinlich das einzige Angriffsziel mit dem höchsten Wert im ‘Netz’ ist.

    Ganz einfach, das ist keine Welt, in der ich leben möchte.

    Wir verdanken den gesamten Erfolg des Internets (geschweige denn des Web) der Offenheit, Interoperabilität und Dezentralisierung. Zu erklären, dass Offenheit, Interoperabilität und Dezentralisierung “zu hart” sind und sich die Mühe beim Aufbau einer Messaging-Lösung nicht lohnt, bedeutet, das gesamte Potenzial der Lebendigkeit, Kreativität und Innovation, die von einem offenen Netz ausgehen, wegzuwerfen. Sicher, es kann sein, dass Sie am Ende eine Super-Private-Messaging-Anwendung erhalten - aber eine, die anfängt, alarmierend nach einem ummauerten Garten zu riechen, wie die Internet.org-Initiative von Facebook, oder ein AOL-Schlüsselwort oder Googles AMP.

    Also nehmen wir weiterhin gerne Moxies Herausforderung an, um ihm das Gegenteil zu beweisen - um zu zeigen, dass es sowohl möglich als auch zwingend notwendig ist, eine offene dezentrale Messaging-Plattform zu schaffen, die (wenn Sie seriöse Apps und Server verwenden) so sicher und metadatenschonend sein kann wie Signal… und in der Tat noch mehr, da Sie Ihren Server im Netz betreiben können und sich nicht mit einer Telefonnummer registrieren müssen und in Zukunft vielleicht sogar überhaupt keinen Server mehr benötigen.

7 Gründe

Hier die Überschriften aus einem ausführlichem Kommentar „7 triftige Gründe, warum man auch Signal niemals über den Weg trauen sollte

  1. Der Mobilfunknummern-Zwang
  2. Finanzierung
    2a.) Brian Acton
    2b.) Open Tech Fund = Geld von der US-Regierung https://www.opentech.fund/results/supported-projects/open-whisper-systems (extern) 2c.) Was ist wenn das Geld alle ist? Wie gehts dann mit Signal weiter?
  3. Amazon΄s Cloud AWS (dazu: https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/CLOUD_Act )
  4. Auffällige “Sicherheitslücken” in drei US-Messengern - naürlich in der Zwischenzeit gepatcht (gestopft):
    • WhatsApp von Facebook: “Der Angreifer kann die Spyware einfach durch einen WhatsApp-Anruf in das jeweilige Gerät einschleusen, selbst wenn der Angerufene gar nicht abhebt.” / https://heise.de/-4421379 (extern)
    • iMessage von Apple: “Ein Google-Sicherheitsforscher schildert, wie sich Schadcode ohne Nutzerinteraktion aus der Ferne auf iPhones einschleusen lässt.” / https://heise.de/-4632972 (extern)
    • und eben die SignalApp: “Großer Lausch-Anruf: Signal nimmt selbsttätig Anrufe an” / https://heise.de/-4546500 (extern)
  5. Signal möchte SMS-Ersatz sein
  6. Juristischer Einflussbereich der USA und jetzt auch EU
  7. “Moxie Marlinspike” (extern) ist nur ein Künstlername

Quelle: Kommentar im Heise-Forum (extern)

Tipps

  • Schrit-für-Schritt-Anleitung (extern; englisch) wie man Signal ohne Smartphone nutzen kann
  • Signal-Android-App direkt und ohne Aurora/PlayStore: Von der Signal-Seite die versteckte APK (extern) herunterladen - aktualisiert sich auch ohne Aurora/PlayStore

Webbkoll

Ergebnis der Seitenanalyse durch Webbkoll Quelle: https://webbkoll.dataskydd.net/de/results?url=http%3A%2F%2Fsignal.org (extern)

Verweise


Fazit

Signal als Messenger ist sicherlich “sicher” - allerdings begibt man sich hier in die Abhängigkeit eines einzelnen Anbieters.